Skip to content. Skip to navigation.

Georgia Institute of Technology

Dining @ Tech

Vegetarian / Vegan Options

Georgia Tech Dining Services offers an extensive number of vegan and vegetarian dining options. Our culinary staff uses innovative ingredients, spices and flavors to create a robust and flavorful vegan and vegetarian-friendly menu.

Vegetarian diets are growing more and more common. If you are or are considering becoming a vegetarian, there are several things to keep in mind to maintain a healthful diet.

You can identify vegan & vegetarian foods with the following symbols placed on food items:

All items that exclude meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal derived ingredients.

All items that do not include meat, and consist primarily of plant and soy based foods. Many vegetarian items do contain dairy products such as cheese and milk.

Generally there are four different types of vegetarians:

  • Strict vegetarian or vegan: A vegetarian diet that excludes all animal products such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs, milk, cheese and other dairy products
  • Lactovegetarian: A vegetarian diet that excludes meat, poultry, fish and eggs but includes dairy products
  • Lacto-ovovegetarian: A vegetarian diet that excludes meat, poultry and fish but includes eggs and dairy products. Most vegetarians in the United States fall into this category.
  • Flexitarian: A semi-vegetarian diet with a focus on vegetarian food with occasional meat consumption.

In the following pages, you can learn:

Source: Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics


Georgia Institute of Technology | Dining Services | 1234 Street Road Anywhere OR 97219 | tel. (404) 894-2383 | Contact Us